Finding Time to Write

Standard

I discovered the horrible truth behind balancing a life and being a writer—the amount of time spent writing is maybe 30 minutes/week. It’s awful!

 

I work a 9 to 5 job, have an amazing boyfriend of over 2 years (though I’ve known him longer), a family nearby, friends who want to hang out…the list goes on.

I’m not saying that this is an excuse or anything. I’m talking about this because I want to reflect on the life choices that push me into squeezing time write within the last few minutes of the day.

The clock reads 11:35 pm EST.

Ah! it’s 11:56 pm! What? Stupid phone calls…

So, of course, like many other interruptions, I lose track of what I planned to type in these pages. Now I’m left staring at the computer screen, wondering why I started. I have this voice in the back of my head that tells me that, since I started, I need to finish.

This New Year’s Resolution is a little more difficult than thought. Hmm…time for plan B.

For any readers who stumble upon this blog…any tips on organizing time more efficiently to write/blog?

2 thoughts on “Finding Time to Write

  1. Hmm, finding time to blog and write in general is hard! I have been determined to try starting to writing fiction again for two years but it still hasn’t happened (apart from the short stories for a short course). I think the most important thing is having the drive to do it and that means choosing a topic you are passionate about, or writing when the inspiration strikes! I always find that is when writing goes best, but then there is once again this silly little thing called life that often stifles creativity. 😛 Maybe try and select an allotted amount of time to write in? Giving yourself a time limit can sometimes make you write quicker. 🙂

    Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

    • I think what you said was great! Thank you! I think you’re right about having the drive to write as well as selecting a topic I’m passionate about is a good point. I think I’m still looking for the right “voice” to have in this blog. It will take a lot of trial and error but it takes practice.

      I might try that time limit thing. It might help displine me to be like “okay, I can take 15 min today to write. I have time for that. Go!”

      Thanks for the response! 🙂

Leave a Reply

