Novel #1 Complete!

Standard

My dream of being a writer just took a step forward. I finally finished my first novel!

Ending at just about 44,000 words, I know I have a long way to go, but I know that I needed to start somewhere.

While surfing the web, I found this funny list of sayings by famous authors about why being an author is so hard. Call me a masochist, but I found it encouraging. Here’s a few:

“The first draft of everything is s**t.” – Ernest Hemingway

“If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.” – Dorothy Parker

“I would advise anyone who aspires to a writing career that before developing his talent he would be wise to develop a thick hide.” – Harper Lee

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.” – George Orwell

“If writing seems hard, it’s because it is hard. It’s one of the hardest things people do.” – William Zinsser

“Don’t take anyone’s writing advice too seriously.” – Lev Grossman

You can find the entire list here: 21 Harsh But Eye-Opening Writing Tips From Great Authors

4 thoughts on “Novel #1 Complete!

  1. Wow congratulations that’s a massive step! I have yet to finish one single story in my entire life (unless you could short stories) and I haven’t had the time or energy to write one in years! It makes me sad but hopefully I can return to it someday. 🙂

    • Thanks! I count short stories as something. I was only able to get myself into gear b/c of NanoWriMo. I started with that and just kept going. Definitely a good feeling to have, I gotta say 🙂 You should check out the site, nanowrimo.org. The challenge starts Nov. 1st! It might be the push you need. Either way though, you’ll get there 🙂

      If you ever want a person to bounce ideas off of for your future stories, let me know!

      • Thanks, I have vaguely considered NanoWriMo but I’m not sure it would work for me. I may try it one day, I know it works for a lot of people so you never know. But at the moment I barely have time to watch TV let alone write a story, LOL. University deadlines are killer at the moment. Maybe over Christmas or something. That being said, that could be my excuse forever…

        Awwh, thank you! I will keep that in mind. 🙂 I wish you the best of luck with editing!

      • Well NanoWriMo is meant to be fun, not stressful. So look into it when you have the free time (that mystical unicorn we all chase lol).
        And thank you. I have a few editing help books I want to check out from the library. Hopefully those will help.

Leave a Reply

