Being a Science-Fiction Nerd Rocks Sometimes…

Standard

A few days ago, I was working at the front of the store, greeting customers and trying to sell e-readers.

A man came up to me and asked if I knew where the science-fiction section was. Do I? Am I a woman? Is chocolate yummy? yes, yes, and yes.

I’m a HUGE science-fiction nerd, though a lot less nerdy than you would see in a sci-fi convention (I’m getting there!). I was raised on Star Wars and Star Trek. As per family tradition, I was given The Hobbit when I was eleven and it was also around the time that I started the Harry Potter series. My résumé goes on, but you get the idea. Nerd is in my blood (see picture at the bottom).

Anyway…

I couldn’t contain the smile spreading across my face when I said, “Of course! I’ll show you where it is!” and led him down the aisles of books towards the best area of the store. As we were walking, he asked, “So, uh, do you know anything about science fiction?”

“Oh yea,” I said. “I like to say that I was raised on Star Wars and Star Trek.”

“Oh, cool,” he nodded, to no one in particular. “So what are you reading?”

“I’m reading this awesome book called How To Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe.”

“Oh wow! Is it good?”

“Yea,” I said and went on to describe how I like it so far, likened it to The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, and mentioned that it’s a different style of science fiction writing because the author writes in a postmodernist style. About halfway into my blabber, I realized that he’s really new to the science fiction universe so I shut up before I started confusing him. We go on like this for a while, chatting about how he wants to get into this genre. He then asks me the best question you could ask someone like me:

“What would you recommend that I read?”

Why I’m glad you asked. I started pointing a bunch of books, falling into a rhythm and trying to gauge how much he’s following and if he’s interested in what I’m suggesting. They were all hits. In the end, he had a few books in his hands and decided to choose only one because I’m guessing he was on a budget. He chose the first book of the Dresden Files so a very good choice that I highly recommend to anyone.

That wasn’t the best part though.

The best part was that he waited for my manager to not be busy (which took more than five minutes) to tell him that I did a fantastic job and I really knew my stuff. My ego was through the roof and still kind of is.

That is why being a nerd rocks sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Being a Science-Fiction Nerd Rocks Sometimes…

  1. “A man came up to me and asked if I knew where the science-fiction section was. Do I? Am I a woman? Is chocolate yummy? yes, yes, and yes.” Haha! Love this!
    And talking to your manager at the end….what a bonus! 🙂

Leave a Reply

